Spirit, the Fifth Element

The element of Spirit, or Ether or Akasha (Sanskrit), represents the universal inner space, the material that fills the region of the universe above the terrestrial sphere. (Wiki)

Spirit is thought to be the fifth element, with the other four classical elements being Earth, Air, Fire and Water.  Together they form each point of the pentacle.

Spirit represents the prime element present in all things, providing space, connection and balance for all elements to exist.  It is essential to our sense of connectedness with spirit and well-being.  Spirit represents represents the sense of joy and union, transcendence, transformation, change, everywhere and nowhere, within and without, immanence.  It represents the human spirit and energy of the Goddess and God.

Types of magick include enlightenment, findng your life path, spiritual knowledge, seeing and understanding karmic paths of life.

DirectionCentre, circumference, complete lack of direction and dimension
ColoursWhite, Black, Purple
SeasonThe turning wheel of the year
GoddessesThe Lady, Isis
GodsThe Horned God, Akasha
Magick toolsPentacle, robe, cord, rope
Rule of MagnusTo become perfected
SymbolsInfinity, the cosmos, godhead, the creator, infinity sign, wheel, pentacle
ChakraCrown, Third Eye
Trees/PlantsMistletoe, the flowing almond tree
Gems & StonesQuartz, diamonds
SenseSixth sense, intuition
Positive TraitsWisdom
Negative TraitsSelf-destruction

The Wiccan Elements

Ravenari on Deviantart for cover art

© West Coast Pagan


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: